JEAN-FRANÇOIS PROST: CHANTIER

 

Multidisciplinary

A project by Jean-François Prost with collaborators, presented by Skol

August 19th 2022 — October 2023

Chantier is an artistic, political and social investigation of the conceptualization and creation of a large display device situated on a vacant lot at 6919 Marconi in Montréal. For more than a year, this proposed structure will serve as a support for the realization of a series of collaborative, artistic and civic interventions.

Scheduled activities throughout the year will include:

  • Interventions by artists;
  • Sound and textual art creations;
  • Spontaneous actions and performances.

Participating artists confirmed during the year:

  • ¡A MANO!
  • Martin Dufrasne
  • Matin Rodriguez

More information to come!

 


 

6919 Marconi, starting point of the Chantier project, is located in a hybrid urban zone (residential, industrial and commercial) along a train line. For many years now, Prost individually and collectively initiated on this 1 800 ft2 lot different types of occupations, such as workshops, projections, launches and urban camping. Today, many city dwellers are challenged and drawn to this vacant lot as a space-time of stopping, slowing down and spontaneity in an era of acceleration and increased control.

Unlike entertained-animated spaces that are overly programmed and codified, as we know nowadays, the vacant lot stays wide open for imagination (without dictating how we behave, move and travel). According to the theoretician Benjamin Delmotte, this allows “multiple never-ending beginnings.”

For the Chantier project, Jean-François Prost will initiate an intervention offering a support on which other individuals can act and contribute to define its character and specificity in transformation. This participation and (co)definition process suggests an eventual negotiation about the land, which is vital for democracy. As the urbanist Jane Jacobs said : “Cities have the capability of providing something for everybody, only because, and only when, they are created by everybody.”

The proposed actions will explore the theme of the vanished, existing and prospective urban diversity, as well as the vagueness of the place, and the unfinished aspect of the construction site as a vector for co-defining the city.

It is in this spirit that the Chantier project is being developed. More news will follow soon about the planned actions.

 

 

 

We thank Adaptive Actions (AA) by FEED and the audio consultant Nathalie LeBlanc for their contribution.

Photo: Paul Litherland and Jean-François Prost, 2022.

Jean-François Prost : Chantier

 

Multidisciplinaire

Un projet de Jean-François Prost, diffusé par Skol

18 août 2022 — octobre 2023

Lancement : 18 août de 17h30 à 21h00
En cas de pluie : reporté au vendredi 19 août à 17h30

Lieu : sur le terrain vague du 6919 rue Marconi

Inauguration :
  • de l’espace d’affichage
  • de la première intervention de Martín Rodríguez
  • lancement de l’appel à la participation ouvert à toutes et tous.
Artistes participant.e.s confirmé.e.s durant l’année :
¡A MANO! et Martin Dufrasne

 

À la fois artistique, politique et social, Chantier est un projet de conception et d’aménagement d’un grand espace d’affichage sur le terrain vague du 6919 rue Marconi. Durant plus d’un an, cette structure proposée servira à la réalisation d’une série d’interventions collaboratives, artistiques et citoyennes.

Les activités qui auront lieu au cours de l’année :

  • Interventions d’artistes ; 
  • Créations sonores et textuelles ; 
  • Actions de nature spontanée.

Plus d’informations à venir !


Le 6919 Marconi, point de départ du projet Chantier, se trouve dans une zone urbaine hybride (résidentielle, industrielle et commerciale) longeant une voie ferrée. Depuis plusieurs années, Prost a amorcé sur ce lot de 1 800 pi2, individuellement et collectivement, différentes formes d’occupation telles que des ateliers, des projections, des lancements et du camping urbain. Aujourd’hui, de nombreux citadins sont interpelés et attirés par ce terrain comme espace-temps d’arrêt, de ralentissement et de spontanéité dans une ère d’accélération et de contrôle accentué.

Contrairement aux espaces divertis-animés, surprogrammés et codifiés qu’on connaît de nos jours, le terrain vague reste ouvert à l’imaginaire (sans dicter notre manière de nous comporter, d’agir, de bouger ou de nous déplacer). Il permet, selon l’expression du théoricien Benjamin Delmotte « des multiples commencements sans fin ».

Pour le projet Chantier, Jean-François Prost amorcera une intervention offrant un support sur lequel d’autres individus pourront agir et contribuer à définir son caractère et sa spécificité en transformation. Ce processus de participation et de (co)architecture suggère une éventuelle négociation du territoire, vitale pour une démocratie. Comme le disait simplement l’urbaniste Jane Jacobs : «Les villes sont aptes à fournir quelque chose pour tout le monde uniquement quand et pourquoi elles sont créées par tout le monde». 

Les actions proposées exploreront le thème de la mixité urbaine disparue, existante et prospective et le caractère vague du lieu et inachevé du chantier en tant que vecteur de co-définition de la ville. 

C’est dans cet esprit que s’élabore le projet Chantier. D’autres nouvelles suivront prochainement à propos des actions prévues.

 

Consultante audio : Nathalie LeBlanc 

Crédit photo : Jean-François Prost, 2022.